GOT A TRADE WEEK 2017|21 - 27 AUGUST 2017 View event calendar


Hair and beauty celebrate success at the 2016 Industry Awards

Media contacts

Industry Awards

Barbers, beauty therapists, and hairdressers came together to celebrate at the 2016 Industry Awards on Sunday 13 November.

Dunedin hairdressing apprentice Liana King-Biddulph was the big HITO winner on the night, topping off an incredible year for the stylist. Liana won the HITO Apprentice of the Year Award, a prestigious award that acknowledges the best apprentice barber, beauty therapist, or hairdresser in New Zealand. Liana also won the NZARH Next Generation Hairstylist of the Year and the gold medal at the WorldSkills hairdressing competition earlier in the year.

"I've always wanted to be a hairdresser, and I'm so honoured to be up here tonight," Liana says. "I've attended a hairdressing school and been an apprentice, and I can say doing an apprenticeship is the best decision I've ever made. There are so many opportunities in the salon. Thank you to my mentors and employers Kylie Hayes and Nelson Morrison. I look forward to where my career will take me next and to continue sharing my passion and skills with others."

Christchurch salon True Grit was the other big winner on the night, taking home the Kitomba NZARH Salon of the Year along with a slew of other awards. After six years of displacement following the 2010 and 2011 Christchurch earthquakes, it’s incredible to see the strength and determination of this team. They’ve rebuilt and come back even stronger, experiencing amazing success in competitions both here and in Australia, and now at the 2016 Business Awards.

Jacqui commented “We’re so honoured to be New Zealand Salon of the Year and winners of three Business Awards. It was totally unexpected because the calibre of the other entrants was so high. We’re extremely proud of our amazing True Grit team, without them we wouldn’t be where we are today, and are so happy to have shared it with them last night”.

Invercargill’s Rachel Tong also celebrated success on Sunday night, taking home the prestigious Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship.

The Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship goes to a hairdressing apprentice who shows passions, dedication, and commitment in their hairdressing career. The scholarship is named for hairdressing apprentice Jasmine McBeth, who completed her hairdressing apprenticeship despite struggling with cancer. When Jasmine passed away, her parents Denise and Murray McBeth donated money Jasmine had saved to buy a hairdressing salon towards the scholarship.

Receiving this scholarship was a particularly special moment for Rachel, who has been a finalist for the award every year since 2014.

“I can’t believe I’m finally standing on this stage,” Rachel said. “Receiving this scholarship means so much to me as a stylist and on a personal level. Thank you so much to Denise and Murray for your generosity. It is a humbling experience to represent HITO and the McBeth family as the scholarship recipient. With this scholarship I can transform myself and the industry, and continue to help others change and grow”.

The Industry Awards winners celebrated their success along with over 300 hairdressers, barbers, and beauty therapists at the 2016 Industry Awards held in Auckland last night.

Each year Kitomba Salon Software, the New Zealand Association of Registered Hairdressers (NZARH) and New Zealand Hair and Beauty Industry Training Organisation (HITO) come together and hold the Industry Awards. The awards celebrate excellence in business and training in the New Zealand hair and beauty industries.

HITO CEO Kay Nelson said “I'm very excited to be part of such a vibrant and creative area of the New Zealand economy. As an industry, you’ve achieved so much success already, and I look forward to celebrating and working with you to achieve even more. It’s clear to see that a commitment to training and to business excellence leads to growth and success in hair and beauty.”

Tom Murphy, CEO of Kitomba explains “the Industry Awards are made up of two distinct areas - the Kitomba NZARH Business Awards and the HITO Training Awards. The Kitomba NZARH Business Awards, now in their eleventh year, celebrate the idea that our industry has many great businesses, that we can inspire each other to excel and improve, and that recognising and celebrating business excellence and success is good for us all.”

A special thank you to:


  • Our hosts, Mana Dave and Jennifer Morgan
  • Our sponsors: A Sharper Blade, Comfortel, Dateline, Frog Coaching, Goldwell, House of Camille, L’Oreal, NSI Nails, Schwarzkopf, Shock Consult, and Wella
  • Our judges: Wendy Maxwell of L’Oreal, Seumus Cooney of Wella, Paul Wacker of Frog Coaching, Kate and Tiffany of Protege Hairdressing, Lyndsay Loveridge, and Janine Simons

The winners

HITO Training Awards

HITO Apprentice of the Year

  • Winner: Liana King-Biddulph, Moha
  • Runner-up: Elana McCarrison, Lifestyle Hair Studio

HITO Regional Apprentice of the Year

  • Northland: Alicia Andrews, Biba, Auckland
  • Auckland: Stephanie Campbell, Jan Waite Hairdressing, Auckland
  • Waikato and Bay of Plenty: Sonya Stott, Colors Hair Company, Hamilton
  • Manawatu & Hawke’s Bay: Giorgia Bastin-Lindsay, VIE Hairdressing, New Plymouth
  • Wellington and Wairarapa: Elana McCarrison, Lifestyle Hair Studio, Kapiti
  • North Canterbury and Nelson-Marlborough: Ashlee van Wijk, True Grit, Christchurch
  • Otago and South Canterbury: Liana King-Biddulph, Moha Hairdressing, Dunedin

HITO Trainer of the Year

  • Winner: Ruth Irwin, Oscar & Co, Auckland

HITO Tutor of the Year

  • Winner: Salina Murphy, The Hairdressing College, Palmerston North

HITO Training Salon of the Year

  • Winner: Colors Hair Company, Hamilton

Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship

  • Recipient: Rachel Tong, Fred & Gingers Hair & Beauty Salon, Invercargill


Kitomba NZARH Business Awards

Kitomba NZARH New Zealand Salon of the Year

  • Winner: True Grit, Christchurch

Grand Salon of the Year

  • Winner: True Grit, Christchurch

Boutique Salon of the Year

  • Winner: Hairnow on Apollo, Auckland

Business Stylist of the Year

  • Winner: Dave Rogers, Morph Hair, Hamilton

L’Oréal Employer of Choice

  • Winner: Zaibatsu Hair Art, Dunedin

Excellence in Marketing

  • Winner: True Grit, Christchurch

Wella Sustainable Salon of the Year

  • Winner: Mane Salon, Wellington

Frog Coaching Fastest Growing Salon

  • Winner: Ross and Co Hair Design, Hamilton

Best Salon Design

  • Winner: True Grit, Christchurch

Best New Entrant

  • Winner: Hair to Stare at, Tauranga